Video works Danny Matthys

Digitisation and restoration of the video works by Danny Matthys



A PACKED research project in collaboration with argos and M HKA. Period: 2008-2009.

Danny Matthys is one of the pioneers of media art in Belgium. At the end of the 1960s he started experimenting with (Polaroid) photography, film and video (installations). His work has been exhibited extensively in and outside Belgium, and is, amongst others, part of the Argos and M HKA collections. The video works are made in analogue formats that have become obsolete in the meantime, and that need to be digitised and restored. PACKED directed and documented this digitisation and restoration process. 

The works that are digitised and restored in collaboration with argos and M HKA are:

  • Zeedijk Knokke-Heist (1973-1974, 15 min, 4-channel video)
  • Coupure (1974, 12 min, 2-channel video)
  • Prudence van Duyseplein (1974, 5 min, 2-channel video)
  • Lager gelegen Weiland (1974, 5 min, 2-channel video)
  • Closed Letter & Number Series (1975, 3 min, single channel video)
  • Building - 19 verdiepingen (1975, 32 min, single channel video)
  • 9 + 1 Polaroid Black & White Pictures (1976, 9 min, single channel video)
  • 9 + 1 Polaroid Colour Pictures (1977, 26 min, single channel video)
  • Internationale video manifestatie (1977, 18 min, single channel video)
  • Expo Bar (1983, 60 min, single channel video)
  • World Beauties (1983-1984, single channel video)
  • De la fiction en photographie (1984, 25 min, single channel video)

As a first stage the videotapes that are part of the installations Zeedijk Knokke-Heist (1973-1974), Coupure (1974) and Prudence van Duyseplein (1974) were digitised at ZKM, Centre for Art and Media Technology (Karslruhe). In the early 1970s,  the original recordings were made on open reel videotapes. Some years later they were transfered to ¾” U-matic tapes. Later on these ¾” U-matic tapes were transfered to Betacam SP tapes by Argos. Subsequently the Betacam SP tapes were transfered to Digital Betacam tapes. Because this digitisation process did not achieve optimal quality, we tried to re-digitise the works directly from the open reel videotapes or the ¾” U-matic tapes. Which of these are in the best shape, and offer the best guarantee for a good digital video copy?

As soon as the tapes were digitised, we checked which parts needed frame-by-frame correction. For some productions, new digital editing by or in collaboration with the artist was necessary for the purpose of the synchronisation of the different tapes, amongst others. Synchronisation was checked with the artist, and the works were documented in collaboration with him.

 

  • "Zeedijk Knokke-Heist", Danny Matthys, 1973-1974
  • "Zeedijk Knokke-Heist", Danny Matthys, 1973-1974
  • "Coupure", Danny Matthys, 1974
  • "Coupure", Danny Matthys, 1974
  • "Prudence van Duyseplein", Danny Matthys, 1974
  • "Prudence van Duyseplein", Danny Matthys, 1974
met de steun van de vlaamse overheid

Copyright © 2017 PACKED / Legal disclaimer / Privacy statement / Sitemap
Webdesign by thisconnect.be / pixelman.be

Œuvres vidéo de Danny Matthys

Numérisation et restauration des œuvres vidéo de Danny Matthys



Un projet de recherche de PACKED en collaboration avec argos et le M HKA. Période : 2008-2009.

Danny Matthys est un des pionniers de l’art médiatique en Belgique. À la fin des années 1960 il commença à expérimenter la photographie (Polaroid), le film et la vidéo (installations). Son travail a été largement exposé en Belgique comme ailleurs, et il fait partie des collections d’argos et du M HKA. Ces œuvres vidéo ont été réalisées sur formats analogiques qui sont depuis devenus obsolètes et nécessitent d’être numérisées et restaurées. PACKED dirige et documente ce processus de numérisation et de restauration.

Les œuvres devant être numérisées et restaurées en collaboration avec argos et le M HKA sont :

  • Zeedijk Knokke-Heist (1973-1974, 15 min, 4-channel video)
  • Coupure (1974, 12 min, 2-channel video)
  • Prudence van Duyseplein (1974, 5 min, 2-channel video)
  • Lager gelegen Weiland (1974, 5 min, 2-channel video)
  • Closed Letter & Number Series (1975, 3 min, single channel video)
  • Building - 19 verdiepingen (1975, 32 min, single channel video)
  • 9 + 1 Polaroid Black & White Pictures (1976, 9 min, single channel video)
  • 9 + 1 Polaroid Colour Pictures (1977, 26 min, single channel video)
  • Internationale video manifestatie (1977, 18 min, single channel video)
  • Expo Bar (1983, 60 min, single channel video)
  • World Beauties (1983-1984, single channel video)
  • De la fiction en photographie (1984, 25 min, single channel video)

La première étape verra les bandes vidéos faisant parties des installations Zeedijk Knokke-Heist (1973-1974), Coupure (1974) et Prudence van Duyseplein (1974) être numérisées au ZKM, Centre for Art and Media Technology (Karslruhe). Au début des années 1970, les captations originales furent réalisées sur bandes open reel. Quelques années plus tard elles furent transférées vers des bandes U-matic ¾”. Par la suite, ces bandes U-matic ¾” furent elles-même transférées vers des bandes Betacam SP par argos. Enfin, les bandes Betacam SP furent transférées vers des bandes Digital Betacam. Dans la mesure où ce processus de numérisation n’a pas atteint la qualité optimale espérée, les œuvres vont être renumérisées directement depuis les bandes open reel ou les U-matic. Lesquelles de ces dernières sont dans le meilleur état et offre la meilleure garantie d’une bonne copie numérique?

Dès que les bandes sont numérisées, nous contrôlerons quelles parties ont besoin d’une correction image par image. Il sera peut-être nécessaire de remonter certaines œuvres avec l’artiste pour des raisons entre autres de synchronisation des différentes bandes. La synchronisation sera vérifiée avec l’artiste, et les œuvres seront documentées en collaboration avec lui.