Office Baroque

Preparatory research related to the digitisation and restoration of the film Office Baroque (Cherica Convents / Roger Steylaerts)



A PACKED research project in collaboration with argos and M HKA. Period: 2008-2009.

Office Baroque is a unique art historical documentary about the creation, in Antwerp, of the work with the same title, in 1977, by the American artist Gordon Matta-Clark, for an exhibition organised by the former I.C.C.. Both argos and M HKA wish to incorporate the film Office Baroque in their collection, and are interested in digitising and restoring the film. But before this digitisation and restoration process could start, some preparatory research was required. PACKED undertook this research in collaboration with argos and M HKA.

First and foremost it needed to be checked who owned what rights over the film, in 2009. Who owned the rights as author, or as producer? What rights did M HKA own as heir of the former I.C.C.? And what rights did the heirs of Gordon Matta-Clark own? Answering such questions was difficult, due to the fact that drawing up contracts for the production of this kind of film was not yet common practice in 1977. In addition, artists like Gordon Matta-Clark often considered the film or photo documentation of the creation process as part of their oeuvre. The actual works of art, such as the intervention in the Antwerp office building, often had only a temporary character. In order to determine the rights holders, we tried to (re)construct the production history of the film. We did this by, amongst others, interviewing the filmmakers and the exhibition curator and by checking their correspondence with the artist. We have also involved a judicial expert on intellectual property rights in the research.

In addition, a restored copy of Office Baroque is already circulating in the USA today. What is the status of this restored copy? Do argos and M HKA risk doing double and superfluous work by restoring the film again themselves? We tried to investigate this in consultation with the American distributor and the heirs of Gordon Matta-Clark.

As soon as this first stage of research was completed – and if the different parties involved came to an agreement on the rights – we have examined how the 16mm film could best be digitised and subsequently restored.

  • Office Baroque (Cherica Convents and Roger Steylaerts, 1978) - By courtesy of the producers
  • Office Baroque (Cherica Convents and Roger Steylaerts, 1978) - By courtesy of the producers
  • Office Baroque (Cherica Convents and Roger Steylaerts, 1978) - By courtesy of the producers
  • Office Baroque (Cherica Convents and Roger Steylaerts, 1978) - By courtesy of the producers
  • Office Baroque (Cherica Convents and Roger Steylaerts, 1978) - By courtesy of the producers
  • Office Baroque (Cherica Convents and Roger Steylaerts, 1978) - By courtesy of the producers
met de steun van de vlaamse overheid

Copyright © 2017 PACKED / Legal disclaimer / Privacy statement / Sitemap
Webdesign by thisconnect.be / pixelman.be

Office Baroque

Recherche préparatoire en relation à la numérisation et la restauration du film Office Baroque (Cherica Convents / Roger Steylaerts)



Un projet de recherche de PACKED en collaboration avec argos et le M HKA. Period : 2008-2009.

Office Baroque est un document historique unique à propos de la création en 1977 à Anvers par l'artiste américain Gordon Matta-Clark, de l'œuvre éponyme pour une exposition organisée par l'ancien I.C.C.. Argos et le M HKA souhaitent tout deux inclure le film Office Office Baroque dans leur collection, et sont intéressés de numériser et de restaurer le film. Mais avant que ce processus de numérisation et de restauration puisse commencer, de la recherche préparatoire nécessaire. PACKED est actuellement en train de prendre en charge cette recherche en collaboration avec argos et le M HKA.

En premier lieu et avant tout, il est nécessaire de vérifier qui détient quels droit sur le film en 2009. Qui détient les droits en tant qu'auteur ou en tant que producteur? Quels droits détient le M HKA en tant qu'hétier de l' I.C.C.? Et quels droits les héritiers de Gordon Matta-Clark détiennent-ils? Répondre à ces questions est difficile, dû au fait que mettre en place un contrat pour ce genre de film n'était pas un pratique encore répandu en 1977. Des artistes comme Gordon Matta-Clark considérait souvent la docupmentation filmique ou photograpique du processus de création comme un partie de leur œuvre. L'œuvre d'art en tant que tel, comme l'intervention dans l'immeuble de bureaux à Anvers, n'avait la plupart du temps qu'un caractère temporaire. Afin de déterminer les détenteurs des droits, nous essaierons de (re)construire l'histoire de la production du film. Nous ferons cela entre autres en interrogeant les réalisateurs et le commisaire de l'exposition et en consultant leur correspondance avec l'artiste. Nous ferons aussi appel à un expert juridique sur les questions de propriété intellectuelles.

De plus, une version restaurée d'Office Baroque circule déjà au USA aujourd'hui. Quel est le statut de cette copie restaurée? Est-ce qu'argos et le M HKA ne risquent-il pas de faire un travail superflu en restaurant de nouveau cette bande? Nous tentons de clarifier cela en collaboration avec le distributeur américain et les héritiers de Gordon Matta-Clark.

Dès que cette première étape de recherche sera complétée – et si les différentes parties impliquées arrivent à un accord sur les droits – nous examinerons comment le film 16mm peut être numérisé et restauré efficacement.

  • Office Baroque (Cherica Convents et Roger Steylaerts, 1978) - Avec l'aimable autorisation des producteurs
  • Office Baroque (Cherica Convents et Roger Steylaerts, 1978) - Avec l'aimable autorisation des producteurs
  • Office Baroque (Cherica Convents et Roger Steylaerts, 1978) - Avec l'aimable autorisation des producteurs
  • Office Baroque (Cherica Convents et Roger Steylaerts, 1978) - Avec l'aimable autorisation des producteurs
  • Office Baroque (Cherica Convents et Roger Steylaerts, 1978) - Avec l'aimable autorisation des producteurs
  • Office Baroque (Cherica Convents et Roger Steylaerts, 1978) - Avec l'aimable autorisation des producteurs