Inflight

Research on the context and the judicial framework of ‘Inflight’ (Johan Grimonprez)



A PACKED research project in collaboration with argos and S.M.A.K.. Period: 2008-2009.

The installation ‘Inflight’ by Johan Grimonprez was purchased by S.M.A.K. in 2000 during a Grimonprez exhibition at the museum. The work is reminiscent of an airport lounge. Seating corners are created in the space, wall paintings are made and big palm trees cheer up the entity. Visitors can lay down on comfortable seats and can drink a cup of coffee or a glass of water in the meanwhile. On tables Glossy magazines, ‘safety on board’-cards and vomit bags can be found. These are the three things that you would normally find on an airplane, but here they carry an ironic twist. The Inflight Magazines contain diverse information about airplane hijackings. On the vomit bags a pictogram of a crashed plane is printed, and the ‘safety on board’-cards display information on how to react in case of a hijacking by aliens.

Visitors can view films on two screens that they can select themselves from a video library presented to them. This video library, consisting of 26 tapes, was curated by the artist himself and contains Hollywood blockbusters, foreign documentaries and publicity clips. They have a common theme, namely airplane crashes, hijackings or abductions by aliens.

S.M.A.K. already did research into ‘Inflight’ – mainly with regards to documentation and presentation. This research was done in collaboration with the artist within the framework of the 'Inside Installations' project. During the research it became clear that this installation was only one version of the (larger) art work: video library. According to Grimonprez, other versions of the video library can also be shown by S.M.A.K. Some versions resemble ‘Inflight’ (lounge), others have a different atmosphere or a different video selection. Every time the video library is shown, it is adapted by the artist. Variability is a very important characteristic of this art work; the content is defined by current world politics or historical contexts, as well as by museum policy, the theme of the exhibition or museum architecture.

It is important to do judicial research and to define how the museum has to deal with the video library and its changing content.

‘Inflight’ was created as an extension of the video dial H-I-S-T-O-R-Y, a previous project by Johan Grimonprez. This video is part of the video library of ‘Inflight’. Argos has this video in its collection, as well as a large amount of archive material on Grimonprez and his work. S.M.A.K.'s research on 'Inflight' has also resulted in a lot of documentation. Such contextual information can contribute to the conservation and disclosure of the art works. The importance of such contextual information for the installation of the work will be analysed.

met de steun van de vlaamse overheid

Copyright © 2017 PACKED / Legal disclaimer / Privacy statement / Sitemap
Webdesign by thisconnect.be / pixelman.be

Inflight

Recherche sur le contexte et le cadre juridique d' 'Inflight' de Johan Grimonprez.



Un projet de recherche de PACKED en collaboration avec argos et le S.M.A.K.. Période : 2008-2009.

L'installation 'Inflight' de Johan Grimonprez à été acheté par le S.M.A.K en 2000 lors d'une exposition de Grimonprez dans le musée. L'œuvre rappelle une salle d'attente d'aéroport. Des endroits où s'assoir sont aménagés dans l'espace, des peintures murales sont réalisées et de grands palmiers égayent l'ensemble. Les visiteurs peuvent s'étendre sur de confortables sièges et peuvent dans le même temps boire une tasse de café ou un verre d'eau. Sur des tables basses on peut trouver des magazines de luxe, des cartes d'instruction pour la sécurité à bord ainsi que des sacs à vomit. Ce sont les trois choses que vous trouverez normalement dans un avion, mais ici elle donnent lieu à un détournement ironique. Les Magazines d' 'Inflight' contiennent diverses informations sur les détournements d'avions. Sur le sac à vomit, un pictogramme est imprimé, et la carte d'instruction pour la sécurité à bord donne des informations sur comment réagir en cas d'attaque de l'avion par des extras-terrestres.

Les visiteurs peuvent voir des films sur deux écrans qu'ils peuvent eux-même sélectionner depuis une bibliothèque vidéo qui leur est proposée. Cette vidéothèque qui comprend 26 bandes sélectionnées par l'artiste lui-même contient des blockbusters hollywoodiens, des documentaires étrangers et des clips publicitaires. Ils ont un thème commun, les crashs d'avions, les détournements ou enlèvements par les aliens.

Le S.M.A.K à déjà réalisé des recherches concernant 'Inflight' – concernant principalement la documentation et la présentation. Cette recherche à été réalisée en collaboration avec l'artiste dans le cadre du projet 'Inside Installations'. Pendant la recherche, il est devenu clair que cette installation n'était qu'une version de l'œuvre (plus importante) : video library. Selon Grimonprez, d'autres versions de la vidéothèque peuvent aussi être montrées par le S.M.A.K. Certaines versions ressemble à 'Inflight' (une lounge), d'autres ont une atmosphère différente ou une sélection de vidéos. À chaque fois que la vidéothèque est montrée, elle est adaptée par l'artiste. Sa variabilité est une caractéristique importante de cette œuvre d'art ; son contenu est défini par les politiques mondiales actuelles ou les contextes historiques, aussi bien que par la politique du musée, le thème de l'exposition ou l'architecture du musée.

Il est important de faire des recherches juridiques et de définir comment le musée doit gérer la vidéothèque et son contenu changeant.

'Inflight' à été créé comme une extension à la vidéo dial H-I-S-T-O-R-Y, un projet précédent de Johan Grimonprez. Cette vidéo fait partie de la vidéothèque d 'Inflight'. Argos possède cette vidéo dans sa collection, ainsi qu'une importante somme d'archives sur Grimonprez et son travail. La recherche du S.M.A.K sur 'Inflight' à aussi produit beaucoup de documentation. De telles informations contextuelles peuvent contribuer à la conservation de l'œuvre et sa monstration. L'importance de ce type d'informations contextuelles pour l'installation sera analysée.