ATHENA

ATHENA, Access to Cultural Heritage Networks Across Europe


Period: 2008-2011.

PACKED represented the Flemish Community in ATHENA, a project that was financially supported by the European Union and that focused on preparation for the connection of European digital museum collections with Europeana, the European digital library.

PACKED coordinated the supply of content from Flemish and federal institutions in Belgium. Together with the University of Patras (Greece) we were responsible for a work package on Intellectual Property Rights.

The following Belgian partners participated in the project:


ATHENA had the following objectives:

  • to reinforce, support and encourage the participation of museums and other institutions coming from those sectors of cultural heritage not fully involved yet in Europeana;
  • to create a set of well-scaled tools, recommendations and guidelines regarding multi-linguality and semantics, metadata and thesauri, data structures and IPR problems;
  • to identify digital content present in European museums;
  • to contribute to the integration of different sectors within cultural heritage, in cooperation with other projects more directly focused on libraries and archives, with the overall objective to merge all of these different contributions into Europeana;
  • to develop a technical infrastructure that will facilitate semantic interoperability with Europeana.

ATHENA’s ultimate goal was to bring together relevant stakeholders and content owners from all over Europe, evaluate and integrate standards and tools for facilitating the inclusion of new digital content into Europeana, hence conveying the original and multifaceted experience of all European cultural heritage to the user. 

20 EU member states, 3 non-European observers, more than 100 museums and other cultural institutions, in 20 European languages, were involved in ATHENA. The project was coordinated by the Italian Ministry of Cultural Heritage. 

ATHENA has collaborated intensively with existing projects (a.o. Europeana and MICHAEL) and pursued close contacts with other relevant projects. 

ATHENA started in November 2008 and runned until April 2011 (included). More information on the ATHENA project is available on the ATHENA website.

met de steun van de vlaamse overheid

Copyright © 2017 PACKED / Legal disclaimer / Privacy statement / Sitemap
Webdesign by thisconnect.be / pixelman.be

ATHENA

ATHENA, Access to Cultural Heritage Networks Across Europe


Période: 2008-2011.

PACKED représente la Communauté Flamande dans ATHENA, un projet soutenu financièrement par l’Union Européenne et qui se concentre sur la préparation de la connexion des collections muséales numériques européennes avec Europeana, la bibliothèque numérique européenne.

PACKED coordonne ce qui sera fourni par les institutions flamandes et fédérales en Belgique. Ensemble avec l’Université de Patras (Grèce) nous sommes responsables pour un travail sur les droits de la propriété intellectuelle.

Les suivantes partnenaires Belges font partie du projet au présent:


ATHENA a les objectifs suivants :

  • renforcer, supporter et encourager la participation des musées et des autres institutions venant de ces secteurs du patrimoine culturel qui ne sont pas plainement impliqués dans Europeana;
  • créer un set d’outils adaptés, de recommandations et de guides concernant le multi-linguise et la sémantique, les métadonnées et les thésaurus, les structures de données et les problèmes liés à la propriété intellectuelle.
  • identifier les contenus numériques présent dans les musées Européens;
  • contribuer à l’intégration de différent secteurs issus du patrimoine culturel, en coopération avec d’autres projets plus directement centrés sur les bibliothèques et les archives, avec l’objectif général de rassembler toutes ces différentes contributions dans Europeana;
  • développer une infrastructure technique qui facilitera l’interopérabilité sémantique avec Europeana.

L’objectif ultime d’ATHENA est de rassembler des intervenants pertinents et des possesseurs de contenus de toute l’Europe, d’évaluer et d’intégrer les standards et les outils pour faciliter l’inclusion de nouveau contenu numérique dans Europeana, et donc de transmettre à l’utilisateur l’expérience originale et multifacettes de tout le patrimoine culturel européen.

20 états membres de l’UE, 3 observateurs non-européens, plus de 100 musées et autres institutions culturelles, dans 20 langues européennes, sont impliqués dans ATHENA. Le projet est coordinné par le Ministère Italien du Patrimoine Culturel.

ATHENA collaborera de façon intense avec des projets existants (entre autres Europeana et MICHAEL) et conservera des contacts rapprochés avec d’autres projets pertinents.

ATHENA a commencé en Novembre 2008 et va se poursuivre jusqu’à avril 2011 (inclu). Plus d’information sur le projet ATHENA est disponible sur le site d’ ATHENA.